5 идей для «белых» каникул в Грузии

5 идей для «белых» каникул в Грузии

Зима близко! Без шуток, она и правда уже не за горами. Собственно, о горах и том, что рядом, мы бы и хотели поговорить. Как вы знаете, в Грузии есть несколько отличных горных курортов, где можно здорово покататься на лыжах и борде, выплеснуть весь накопившийся стресс и почувствовать прилив адреналина, насладиться снегом и солнцем, подышать свежим воздухом, выпить глинтвейна – и все это по очень умеренным ценам. Однако даже самому заядлому фанату зимних видов спорта иногда хочется сделать паузу, верно? Я хочу немного рассказать о том, что можно посмотреть рядом с нашими курортами.

  1. Фрирайд и история

Начнем с Гудаури. Чтобы добраться до этой фрирайдерской Мекки последних лет, вам в любом случае придется приземлиться в Кутаиси или Тбилиси и сесть на мини-автобус или такси. Однако, ближе к курорту все-таки грузинская столица, и развлекаться и становиться ближе к грузинской культуре можно именно там. Стоит отметить, что на пути от Гудаури в Тбилиси обязательно стоит сделать остановку у крепости Ананури, которая в XVI – XVIII веках служила важным форпостом на дороге, ведущей из Дарьяльского ущелья. Она хорошо сохранилась, поэтому можно побродить внутри стен или по ним, заглянуть в церковь, которая является частью комплекса, и почувствовать себя в другом столетии.

ananuri

Далее на пути Гудаури – Тбилиси находится первая столица Грузии, Мцхета, маленький город гигантского исторического и духовного значения. Именно там началось крещение Грузии, о чем напоминают великолепные фрески храма Светицховели. Стоит подняться и к храму Джвари, который смотрит с горы на слияние рек Арагви и Мтквари. Вы полюбите это место, как только там побываете!

ჯვარი, მტკვარი, არაგვი და მცხეთა ერთად
Photo: Shermazana

А Тбилиси – это Тбилиси… Зима – это самое время испробовать на себе благотворное влияние серных бань, пройтись по музеям, посмотреть на работы Пиросмани в Голубой галерее, посетить спектакли театра марионеток Резо Габриадзе, выпить вина в подвальчиках XVIII – XIX веков, оценить архитектурные прелести города, развлечься в клубах и барах. Зима – это не сонный сезон. Зима – это сезон веселья и уюта!

2. Приятные спуски, воздух и воды

Если вы не слишком уверенно чувствуете себя на лыжах или борде, но все-таки хотите отдохнуть в горах, то от души рекомендуем вам поездку в Бакуриани и Боржоми. В Бакуриани вы можете улучшить ваши навыки езды или просто подышать зимним хвойным воздухом, который очень полезен для организма, попить минеральной воды или чего-то покрепче, отведать варенья из сосновых шишек и совершить поездку в Боржоми, где можно побаловать себя спа-лечением. Невероятная природа и умиротворенность этих курортов обеспечит вам чудесные расслабляющие зимние каникулы!

И не забывайте, что Бакуриани – лучшее место для зимнего отдыха с семьей. Ваши дети будут счастливы покататься на лыжах, коньках, санках и поиграть в снегу.

IMG_1752

tbs3. Поразительные горы и дыхание древности

Самые новые горнолыжные направления Грузии – это Хацвали и Тетнулди в Сванети. Этот высокогорный регион является одним из самых аутентичных и верных традициям. Горы здесь самые высокие и красивые, спуски – крутые и извилистые, а уровень колорита, за которым многие едут в Грузию, просто зашкаливает.

Средневековые сванские башни, которые служили семьям для укрытия от врагов, внесены в Список мирового наследия ЮНЕСКО, а сокровищница музея истории Сванети покажет вам богатства Грузии, которые хранились в этих отдаленных местах веками – в истории было много желающих покуситься на золото и артефакты!Ushguli2

На курорте Хацвали, на высоте 3200 метров находится самый высокий в Грузии ресторан, с террасы которого открывается прекрасный вид на двойной пик неприступной горы Ушба. Наблюдать оттуда, как день склоняется к вечеру, – отдельное эстетическое удовольствие. А если устроить себе дегустацию местной выпечки, вина или чачи, то будет вдвойне здорово!

Photo: DarikoPhoto: Dariko

Photo: Dariko

Photo: Dariko

4. Море, лыжи и вино

Уж не думали ли вы, что Аджария – это только море? Нет, это еще и живописные горные края, где растет виноград, журчат реки и шумят водопады. Это многовековые крепости, необычные арочные мосты и любопытные археологические объекты. Это маленькие винные хозяйства, где можно попробовать довольно редкие вина.

IMG_20150103_194947 IMG_20150103_195520

А еще в ближайшем сезоне там открывается горнолыжный курорт Годердзи, что дает возможность совместить активность и экстрим с морем, вином, древними историями, прогулками по батумскому бульвару, казино и клубами. Кажется, это звучит как интересные зимние каникулы!

5. Спа, ЮНЕСКО и динозавры

Богата на интересные вещи земля имеретинская! Осмотрев Кутаиси и отведав местных хачапури и вина, вы можете посвятить свое время совершенно разным, порой противоположным вещам. Во-первых, в Имерети находятся два монастыря, находящихся в Списке мирового наследия ЮНЕСКО: Баграти и Гелати. Первый расположен в черте города, а дорога ко второму займет около 15 минут на машине. Вид от обоих храмов открывается изумительный! А если представить себе, что уже в Средние века здесь кипела жизнь, учились люди и вершил свои дела легендарный царь Давид, то просто мурашки бегут по коже.

gelati 3 gelati 8

Помимо этого, неподалеку находится еще один интересный монастырь, Моцамета, в котором находятся мощи святых Давида и Константина. Говорят, что визит в Моцамета способствует исполнению искренних заветных желаний – это стоит проверить, однозначно.

Если осмотр достопримечательностей вас утомил, то знайте: в 9 километрах от Кутаиси находится спа-городок Цхалтубо, где можно испытать на себе действие лечебных минеральных вод и спа-терапии. Вода Цхалтубо особенно полезна тем, кто страдает заболеваниями нервной, эндокринной и сердечно-сосудистой систем.

Photo: Dariko

Photo: Dariko

Photo: Dariko

Photo: Dariko

Положительно на здоровье влияет и визит в карстовые пещеры Имерети – Сатаплию и пещеру Прометея. Их воздух и температурный режим подходит и для страдающих астмой. Однако они привлекательны не только как оздоровительное место, но и как интересный природный памятник. Так, в пещере Прометея вы можете прокатиться на лодке по подземному озеру, а в Сатаплии увидеть окаменелый отпечаток лап настоящего динозавра.

Booking.com“>http://Booking.com

About Dariko

Born in Ukraine, now Tbilisi-based. Love seeing new places.

Winter in Georgia: 5 inspiring ideas

Winter in Georgia: 5 inspiring ideas

Winter in Georgia: 5 inspiring ideas

Winter is coming! No kidding, it is really approaching. One of the most important things you should know about winter in our country is the fact that it boasts with great mountain resorts, where you can practice skiing and snowboarding, relax, get rid of stress and feel adrenaline rush, enjoy the snow and the sun, breathe fresh air, drink mulled wine – and all this at very reasonable prices. However, even the craziest fan of winter sports wants to take a break. That’s why I want you to know what else you could do next to the Georgian white resorts.

  1. Freeride and history

Let’s start with Gudauri. To get to this freeriders’ Mecca, you will anyways land in Tbilisi or Kutaisi, and then go with a mini-bus or taxi. The resort is closer to the Georgian capital, so it would be more reasonable to have fun and explore the Georgian culture there. It is worth noting that on the road from Tbilisi to Gudauri you should definitely make a stop at the fortress Ananuri, which was an important outpost on the road leading from the Daryal Gorge in XVI – XVIII centuries. It is well preserved, so you can wander around inside the walls, peak into the church, which is a part of the complex, and feel like in another century.

ananuri

On the road from Gudauri to Tbilisi is located the first capital of Georgia, Mtskheta, a small town of greater historical and spiritual significance. Georgia’s Christianization started there, you can see a lot of stories depicted at the magnificent frescoes of Svetitskhoveli Cathedral. We also recommend to go up to the Jvari Monastery, which looks at the mountains and the confluence of the Aragvi and Mtkvari rivers. You will love this place!

ჯვარი, მტკვარი, არაგვი და მცხეთა ერთად

Tbilisi is Tbilisi… Winter is a perfect time to visit its sulfur baths, museums, take a look at Niko Pirosmani’s works in the Blue Gallery, visit the puppet theater performance at Rezo Gabriadze Theater, drink a glass of wine in the XVIII – XIX centuries cellars, admire the architectural charm of the city, have fun in clubs and bars. Winter is not a sleepy season. Winter is a season of fun and relaxation!

  1. Gentle slopes, fresh air and healing water

If you don’t feel too confident on skis or snowboard, but still want to spend your holidays in the mountains, we recommend you to visit Bakuriani and Borjomi. In Bakuriani you can improve your skiing skills or simply breathe winter pine air, which is very useful for the body, drink mineral water or something stronger, taste pine cone jam, and undertake a trip to Borjomi, where you can get spa treatment. The incredible nature and tranquility of these resorts will make your winter vacation relaxing and beautiful!

Beside this, you have to remember that Bakuriani is great for holidays with children. They will definitely have fun learning skiing, sledging and playing in snow!

IMG_1752

tbs

  1. Conquer the mountains and explore the history

Hatsvali and Tetnuldi in Svaneti are relatively new ski resorts of Georgia. This mountainous region is one of the most authentic and true to tradition. The highest, the steepest and the most beautiful peaks of Georgia are here, that’s why Svaneti is so attractive to mountain lovers.

The medieval Svan towers, which served as shelter for the families during the invasions, are now included to the UNESCO World Heritage List. The treasury of Svaneti Museum of History will show you the wealth of Georgia, which was preserved in these remote areas for centuries: in the Georgian history there were many people who wanted to encroach on gold and artifacts!

Ushguli2

The highest Georgian restaurant is located at the resort Hatsvali at an altitude of 3200 meters. Its terrace offers a beautiful view of the double peak of impregnable mountain Ushba. Observing the sunsets there is a single aesthetic pleasure. And if you will have a good portion of local pastry, wine or chacha, your stay will be twice as great!

Photo: Dariko

Photo: Dariko

  1. Sea, skiing and wine

We hope you knew that Ajara was not only for seaside holidays? It’s a picturesque mountain region, where you can find vines, murmuring rivers and beautiful waterfalls. The centuries-old fortresses, original arched bridges and intriguing archaeological sites wait for you there. There are also small wine farms, where you can taste pretty rare wines.

IMG_20150103_194947IMG_20150103_195520

And in the coming season Goderdzi ski resort will be opened, which gives you the opportunity to combine active vacation with sea, wine, ancient history, walks along Batumi Boulevard, casinos and clubs. Sounds like an interesting winter vacation, doesn’t it?

  1. Spa, UNESCO and dinosaurs

Imereti region is very rich with places of interest! Check out Kutaisi, taste local khachapuri and wine, and then give in to the variety of different activities. First, there are two monasteries in Imereti, which belong to the UNESCO World Heritage List: Bagrati and Gelati. The first is located in the city, the road to the second will take about 15 minutes by car. View from both places is just stunning! And if you imagine that in the Middle Ages this area was very lively, scholars and monks have studied here, and the legendary King David the Builder committed his great deeds, you may get goose bumps.

gelati 3gelati 8

Besides this, nearby there is another interesting monastery, Motsameta, which houses the relics of Saint David and Constantine. It is said that the visit to Motsameta makes sincere wishes come true. Worth trying!

If you tired with sightseeing, you should remember that in 9 kilometers from Kutaisi there is spa town Tskhaltubo, where you can experience the effects of healing mineral waters and spa therapy. Water of Tskhaltubo is especially useful for those who suffer from diseases of nervous, endocrine and cardiovascular system.

Photo: Dariko

Photo: Dariko

A visit to Imeretian caves (Sataplia and Prometheus’) also influences health positively. The air and temperature conditions there are suitable for people suffering from asthma. However, the caves are attractive not only as a place of recreation, but also as interesting natural monuments. So, in Prometheus cave you can take a boat ride along the underground lake, and in Sataplia there are fossilized footprints of dinosaurs.

Booking.com“>http://Booking.com

About Dariko

Born in Ukraine, now Tbilisi-based. Love seeing new places.

Page with Comments

    1. You should always check weather forecast… If snowfalls are heavy, the road to Kazbegi and Gudauri can be closed for some time. The lowlands – Kakheti region, Borjomi, Kutaisi, Batumi – are usually OK.

  1. Hey, thanks you very much for the helpful info!
    I would like to ask, what is the best way to travel IN georgia under budget around january?
    Im driving a lot in my daily life and would like to skip driving for a while, there is good connections via public transport?
    Im mostly after winter sports and food 🙂

    Much thanks in advance!

    1. Hi! Thanks for your feedback 🙂 under FAQ Georgia there is a big article about public transport. Should you have more questions, please feel free to ask!

Comments are closed.